If not on an Edison State campus, Edison State log in credentials are required to access library resources. This requires name and Library barcode number (1973 + student ID #). If any help is needed, contact the Library by phone (937-778-7950) or email Library@edisonohio.edu
Use the EBSCO databases, including SocINDEX, Sociological Collection, Academic Search Complete, and other subject specific EBSCO databases, to search for peer-reviewed articles on your topic. All of these can be searched at the same time by clicking on any of the database links below and following the instructions in the "How Do I?" document.
If an article is peer-reviewed, it means that a board of scholarly reviewers have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://library.sdsu.edu/reference/news/what-does-peer-review-mean
SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
