Skip to main content
site header image

REL 121: Sumerian

This guide is provide resources for study of Aztec, Baltic, Canaanite, Hittite, Inca, Mongol and Sumerian civilizations.

Using Power Search : Hands-on Instructions

Power Search

Articles, books, films, and more...

 

Enter your topic to find additional articles, books, films, etc.  If you are doing this from a computer that is not connected to the Edison network, you will then need to click at the top of the page, and log in by selecting Edison State Community College as your Institution, and entering your name and library card number (located on the back of your Edison Student ID). 

Enter the words Sumerian religion or Sumerian mythology or Sumer into the Power Search. You may also search for deities by name. Use the Refine Results column on the left side of the page to narrow the results. Ask Nancy, Amanda or Elsa for assistance. Our telephone number is 937 778 7950. E-mail us at library@edisonohio.edu

You will need to carefully look through your results to make sure that the article/resource is relevant!

Click on a "Full Text" link to display the article/resource. Click on the article/resource Title to get an Abstract (description) of the article/resource, and then click the "Cite" link to find your MLA  or APA Citation.

Edison Catalog

Use this search box to find books and other materials at the Edison Library.

OhioLINK Catalog

Use this search box to expand your search and find books and other materials at the 80+ college and university libraries in Ohio - delivered free to the Edison Library!

Other print books in the Edison Library

These may have useful information. Use the index to look for Sumerian religious belief and practice.

Ask the library staff to help you to locate the books.

The conquest of civilization. D59 .B78 1954

The encyclopedia of religion and war. Reference  BL80.3 .E53 2004.

Illustrated dictionary of mythology: heroes, heroines, gods, and goddesses from around the world. Reference  BL303 .W55 1998.

A world treasury of myths, legends, and folktales: stories from six continents. Reference  BL 311 .B5613 2000.

World mythology. BL311 .W66 1993.

Thematic guide to world mythology. BL312 .S76 2004.

Historical atlas of world mythology. BL311 .C26 1988.

Myths. BL315 .M95

Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses. Reference  BL 473 .J67 2004.

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center

Click on the electronic link and the computer will take you to the book. Enter your name and library barcode when required.

Gale Encyclopedia of World History: Governments

Enter Sumer into the search box at the top of the page. Read the articles on Ur and Empire of Akkad.

 

 The Oxford Companion to World Mythology

You may need to sign in using your library card number.

Enter Sumerian Mythology into the search box.

 

A Dictionary of Creation Myths

Sign in using your library card number.  Search for Sumerian Creation.

Encyclopedia of Religion (print)

Print books in the Edison Library Circulating Collection

OhioLINK Digital Media Center