Use this website to learn about ASA citation. It is created and maintained by the writing lab at Purdue University.
More Articles and Topic Ideas
Click any one of these databases to discover a large number of social issues that you can use for the topic of your research paper. Once you click a topic, you will find many articles about that topic.
Contains over 300 topics, with links to articles, graphics, and websites about each topic. Provides easy access to a topic overview, pro/con articles, timeline, global impact articles, and statistics for each topic.
To view the complete list of topics, click "More Issues..." located in the bottom, right corner of the "Your 'Top 10' Pro vs. Con Leading Issues" box.
SIRS Knowledge Source is a general reference database with thousands of full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles are selected from more than 1,500 newspapers, magazines, journals, and government publications. Graphics, including charts, maps, diagrams and drawings, are available for many of the articles. It also includes "Today's News: Top News Stories of the Day" from Reuters News Service and "Maps of the World" with over 100 detailed maps of the United States and the world.
Contains over 300 topics, with links to articles, statistics, videos, audio, images, and websites about that topic.
To view the complete list of topics, click "Browse Issues" in the top, middle of the page, and then click "View All."
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. In addition to the engaging, streamlined interface and media-rich topic pages, the product's unprecedented collection of content and curriculum-focused tools that help students explore issues from all perspectives include: More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays 5,000+ topic overviews More than 300 primary source documents 300 biographies of social activists and reformers More than 775 court-case overviews 5 million periodical articles Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs.
Contains over 500 topics. Each topic essay provides background information, images, a complete bibliography, contact information, and extensive links to related articles.
To view the complete list of topics, click "Issues & Controversies" and then the issues will be listed by subject.
Edison students, staff, and faculty have access to four databases created by Facts on File News Services. Facts On File World News Digest is a complete, full-text database of authoritative news and facts ranging from October 1940 to the present day. It also has an extensive full-text collection of biographies, historical documents, and selected, topical editorials from across the United States. Issues & Controversies On File provides background information on the most important current issues. Each essay includes a complete bibliography, contact information, and extensive links to related articles. Finally, the World Almanac Reference Database and the World Almanac Encyclopedia provide quick, factual information.