Skip to main content
site header image

REL 121 - Hindu Gods/Goddesses and Ancient Religions: Books - Print and Electronic

This guide will assist students in completing the Hinduism assignment.

Edison Catalog

Use this search box to find books and other materials at the Edison Library.

OhioLINK Catalog

Use this search box to expand your search and find books and other materials at the 100+ college and university libraries in Ohio - delivered free to the Edison Library!

OhioLINK E-Book Center

Go to the OhioLINK Electronic Books Center:    http://ebooks.ohiolink.edu/ebc-home/

Search for the title:  "Handbook of Hindu Mythology"

Select "Handbook of Hindu Mythology" by George M. Williams.

Use the "Search this Book" option at the top of the page to find the name of a god or goddess. A list of chapters will display with numbers entered in front of each title. These indicate locations and number of times the search term appears in each chapter.

Oxford Reference Online

These titles are available in Oxford Reference Online. Do a Title search for each book in the Edison Library Catalog, found in the upper left corner of this page.

Select the “Connect to” link on the bibliographic page and follow the directions.

A Dictionary of Asian Mythology

A Dictionary of World Mythology

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions

Use the "Search within work" space to enter the name of a Hindu deity or the word Hinduism. 

You can also search for the name of  your Hindu god or goddess via the general Search box at the top of the page.

EBSCO Electronic Books (read on the computer screen)

These books are available in the in EBSCO databases.

http://proxy.ohiolink.edu:9099/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/

Select EBSCOhost Web.

Select Ebook Collection (EBSCOhost).

Search for the name of  your god/goddess, or for the following titles. Click on eBook Full Text to read the book.  Then, click the Search Within icon to look for specific words within the book.

 

Devi: Goddesses of India

Living Banaras: Hindu Religion on Cultural Context

The Rise of the Goddess in the Hindu Tradition

World Religions in America: An Introduction

A Survey of Hinduism

Print Reference Books

Print books from the Circulating Collection