Databases are a collection of data organized in a manner that allows for access, retrieval and use of that data, which are journal, newspaper, government, etc. articles
Edison State Library has numerous databases available to students and these can be accessed directly through the library's main database page, which is located here. For information about accessing specific databases, please look at the PDFs or watch the videos provided below.
Peer reviewed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly reviewers that have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://libguides.sdsu.edu/UnderstandingPeerReview
ESearch can search everything at once or specific resources can be accessed by using the provided limiters. Selecting the Books link under the ESearch bar will limit the results to only books, both physical books and ebooks. Once initial search is completed, additional limiters are provided along the left side of the page. These can be used to display results for only physical items or ebooks and for a specific library only.
Use search techniques to get better results, such as:
Access the below PDF to learn how to use ESearch to locate books and how to apply the above search techniques.
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Issues & Controversies in History delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for major debates and conflicts in history..
Library: 937-778-7950