This guide was created to help find credible sources that can be used in the Informative and Persuasive Speech assignment for COM 121.
If not on an Edison State campus, Edison login credentials are required to access library resources. This will require to input name and Library barcode number (1973 + student ID #), including the zeros. For help, contact the Library by phone (937-778-7950) or email Library@edisonohio.edu
If an article is peer-reviewed, it means that a board of scholarly reviewers have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://library.sdsu.edu/reference/news/what-does-peer-review-mean
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
If focusing on a historical or global event, use World News Digest or SIRS Researcher databases.
World News Digest provides summaries of world and domestic news stories from 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information.
SIRS® Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for the research and understanding of 320+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. All articles, websites, videos, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents are hand-selected from thousands of national and international sources.
If focusing on a current or recent event, use Nexis Uni to search for recent newspaper articles on the topic.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
If focusing on a person, use Biography Reference Bank database.
This database provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. It offers substantive narrative profiles from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers.