Databases are a collection of data organized in a manner that allows for access, retrieval and use of that data, which are journal, newspaper, government, etc. articles
Edison State Library has numerous databases available to students and these can be accessed directly through the library's main database page, which is located here. For information about accessing specific databases, please look at the PDFs or watch the videos provided below.
Peer reviewed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly reviewers that have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://libguides.sdsu.edu/UnderstandingPeerReview
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Contains over 300 topics, with links to articles, statistics, videos, audio, images, and websites about that topic. After selecting a topic, a list of relevant articles/resources will be displayed. Select a title to display the article, and then scroll to the end of the article to get the MLA citation.
Students will need their Edison State Library barcode number to log in to the databases.
Students' library barcode number is the number 1973 + student ID number, including any zeros. Example: 19730123456
If focusing on a current or recent event, use Nexis Uni to search for recent newspaper articles on the topic.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
If focusing on a person, use Biography Reference Bank database.
This database provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. It offers substantive narrative profiles from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers.
SIRS® Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for the research and understanding of 320+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. All articles, websites, videos, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents are hand-selected from thousands of national and international sources.
Students will need their Edison State Library barcode number to log in to the databases.
Students' library barcode number is the number 1973 + student ID number, including any zeros. Example: 19730123456
World News Digest provides summaries of world and domestic news stories from 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information.
Students will need their Edison State Library barcode number to log in to the databases.
Students' library barcode number is the number 1973 + student ID number, including any zeros. Example: 19730123456
Library: 937-778-7950