LibGuides: SOC 224 Race & Ethnicity: Finding Journal Articles

Sociological Collection

Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

Step by step PDF on using the Sociological Collection database
Step-by-step directions to using the Sociological Collection database

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America is a bibliographic database with coverage on the history, life, and culture of native North Americans. Compiled by the Human Relations Area Files, it contains citations to works published from the sixteenth century to the present.

Using Bibliography of Native North Americans
Step-by-step directions to using this resource

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Step by step PDF on how to use SocINDEX database
Step by step directions on how to access and search the SocINDEX database.

SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS® Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for the research and understanding of 320+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. All articles, websites, videos, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents are hand-selected from thousands of national and international sources.
Students will need their Edison State Library barcode number to log in to the databases.
Students' library barcode number is the number 1973 + student ID number, including any zeros. Example: 19730123456

Step by step PDF on how to use SIRS Researcher database
Step by step directions on how to access and search in SIRS Researcher database

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.

Step by step PDF on how to use Academic Search
Step by step directions on how to access and search in Academic Search database

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains over 300 topics, with links to articles, statistics, videos, audio, images, and websites about that topic. After selecting a topic, a list of relevant articles/resources will be displayed. Select a title to display the article, and then scroll to the end of the article to get the MLA citation.
Students will need their Edison State Library barcode number to log in to the databases.
Students' library barcode number is the number 1973 + student ID number, including any zeros. Example: 19730123456

Step by step PDF on how to use Gale Opposing Viewpoints
Step by step directions on how to access and search Gale Opposing Viewpoint database