Databases are a collection of data organized in a manner that allows for access, retrieval and use of that data, which are journal, newspaper, government, etc. articles
Edison State Library has numerous databases available to students and these can be accessed directly through the library's main database page, which is located here. For information about accessing specific databases, please look at the PDFs or watch the videos provided below.
Peer reviewed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly reviewers that have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://libguides.sdsu.edu/UnderstandingPeerReview
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Searching for the application or concept's website is a great way to start the research. If there is a website, it will often provide the first-hand information that is needed. Look for an "About Us" page or similar content.
Make sure that it is not a webpage designed by an unreliable source.
Use Safari Books to find more specific information about your chosen Linux concept. Safari Books has mostly application/software guide books. However, these are more practical than informational.
Safari Books Online provides electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers. Note that users will be asked to enter their institutional (.edu) email address to access the site.
Index, abstracts and full text of articles in many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies. It covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Library: 937-778-7950