Databases are a collection of data organized in a manner that allows for access, retrieval and use of that data, which are journal, newspaper, government, etc. articles
Edison State Library has numerous databases available to students and these can be accessed directly through the library's main database page, which is located here. For information about accessing specific databases, please look at the PDFs or watch the videos provided below.
Peer reviewed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly reviewers that have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://libguides.sdsu.edu/UnderstandingPeerReview
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. History and social science researchers have used Historical Abstracts to discover significant and groundbreaking work for more than 50 years.
America: History and Life with Full Text is the definitive research database covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes hundreds of full-text history journals, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
The Historical Periodicals Collection contains digitized images of periodicals from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, covering a variety of topics.
Library: 937-778-7950