Edison State Library uses ESearch for academic research. ESearch is a tool that finds books, ebooks, articles, journals, videos and more all through one search.
ESearch can be used to
Go to specific databases for specific reports or information.
Databases are a collection of data organized in a manner that allows for access, retrieval and use of that data, which are journal, newspaper, government, etc. articles
Edison State Library has numerous databases available to students and these can be accessed directly through the library's main database page, which is located here. For information about accessing specific databases, please look at the PDFs or watch the videos provided below.
Peer reviewed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly reviewers that have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://libguides.sdsu.edu/UnderstandingPeerReview
ESearch can search everything at once or specific resources and databases can be accessed by using the provided limiters. Selecting the Articles link under the ESearch bar will limit the results to only articles. Once initial search is completed, select the limiters along the left side of the page to choose specific journals or databases.
Use search techniques to get better results, such as:
Access this PDF to learn how to use ESearch to locate articles, journals or databases and how to use the search techniques provided.
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Reach out to the library or tutoring center to get help on citing and formatting.
Library: 937-778-7950
Tutoring Center: 937-778-7959
Index, abstracts and full text of articles in many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies. It covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Safari Books Online provides electronic books and videos in computer science, information technology, business and related fields from O'Reilly and other IT and business publishers. Note that users will be asked to enter their institutional (.edu) email address to access the site.
What is a research proposal?
A research proposal is a document that outlines the approach a researcher will take in order to find a solution to a specific problem. In other words, a research proposal is a summary of what you want to research, why you want to research the problem, as well as how you think the problem will be solved.
The research proposal usually justifies the need for the study while presenting already existing literature and information on your topic. Students and researchers need the research proposal to apply for either sponsorship or approval to embark on the proposed study.
The main function of a proposal is to convince the reader that your proposed study is essential and relevant to your field of study. It is meant to show the focus of your research as well as the methods to be used to achieve the study's objectives. It is important, therefore, that you read widely on your topic to get familiar with the previous research that has been done to be able to refine your project and indicate its relevance and value to existing research.
