Databases are a collection of data organized in a manner that allows for access, retrieval and use of that data, which are journal, newspaper, government, etc. articles
Edison State Library has numerous databases available to students and these can be accessed directly through the library's main database page, which is located here. For information about accessing specific databases, please look at the PDFs or watch the videos provided below.
Peer reviewed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly reviewers that have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://libguides.sdsu.edu/UnderstandingPeerReview
Edison State Library uses ESearch for academic research. ESearch is a tool that finds books, ebooks, articles, journals, videos and more all through one search.
ESearch can be used to
ESearch search options
ESearch searches almost everything that is available to students and staff through Edison State Library.
Access this PDF to learn how to search using ESearch.
ESearch can search everything at once or specific resources and databases can be accessed by using the provided limiters. Selecting the Articles link under the ESearch bar will limit the results to only articles. Once initial search is completed, select the limiters along the left side of the page to choose specific journals or databases.
Use search techniques to get better results, such as:
Access this PDF to learn how to use ESearch to locate articles, journals or databases and how to use the search techniques provided.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Finding out information directly from the company's website is a great way to start the research journey. The websites often provide the first-hand information that is needed. Make sure that it is actually sponsored by the company, and is not a webpage designed by an unreliable source.
A good place to start is the company's About page and the Investor page.
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Library: 937-778-7950