This guide will help complete the persuasive speech assignment. There are links to databases that will provide news, business and legal articles and issue researcher. Academic Search provides scholarly journal articles. There is also a link that provides access to databases by subject, good when specific subject areas are required.
If not on an Edison State Campus, login with Edison credentials is required to access library resources. This will require name and Library barcode number (1973 + student ID #). If you need help, contact the Library by phone at 937-778-7950 or email the Library at Library@edisonohio.edu.
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
World News Digest provides summaries of world and domestic news stories from 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information.
Students will need their Edison State Library barcode number to log in to the databases.
Students' library barcode number is the number 1973 + student ID number, including any zeros. Example: 19730123456
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
