This guide was created to provide the links and information needed to complete the ENG 121 Research Narrative project.
If not on an Edison State campus, Edison State log in credentials are required to access library resources. Name and Library barcode number (1973 + student ID #) are needed. For additional help, contact the Library by phone (937-778-7950) or email Library@edisonohio.edu
If an article is peer-reviewed, it means that a board of scholarly reviewers have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://library.sdsu.edu/reference/news/what-does-peer-review-mean
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
World News Digest provides summaries of world and domestic news stories from 1940-present. It covers major political, social, and economic events, including elections, wars and conflicts, and government and civics information.
If you're focusing on a current or recent event, use Nexis Uni to search for recent newspaper articles on your topic.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Contains over 500 topics. Each topic essay provides background information, images, a complete bibliography, contact information, and extensive links to related articles. To view the complete list of topics, click "Issues & Controversies" and then the issues will be listed by subject.