This guide will help you complete the "Religious Freedoms: Are there appropriate limits?" assignment, by showing how to use the Library databases and resources. Use Nexis Uni to locate news, business and legal sources on the topic. Opposing Viewpoints and Facts on File: Issues and Controversies will provide different perspectives on the same topic. Use the Academic Search Complete database to locate full text peer reviewed articles on the topic.
If not on an Edison State campus, log in credentials are required. These databases will require either Edison State Community College login credentials, which are username and password, or name and library barcode number, which is the number 1973 + student id number, including any zeros.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Reach out to the library or tutoring center for any additional help needed.
Library: 937-778-7950
Tutoring Center: 937-778-7959
Contains over 300 topics, with links to articles, statistics, videos, audio, images, and websites about that topic. After selecting a topic, a list of relevant articles/resources will be displayed. Select a title to display the article, and then scroll to the end of the article to get the MLA citation.
Students will need their Edison State Library barcode number to log in to the databases.
Students' library barcode number is the number 1973 + student ID number, including any zeros. Example: 19730123456
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Contains over 500 topics. Each topic essay provides background information, images, a complete bibliography, contact information, and extensive links to related articles. To view the complete list of topics, click "Issues & Controversies" and then the issues will be listed by subject.
Students will need their Edison State Library barcode number to log in to the databases.
Students' library barcode number is the number 1973 + student ID number, including any zeros. Example: 19730123456
