It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the resources below to research your chosen criminal case.
If you are not on an Edison State campus, you must login with your Edison credentials to access library resources. This will require you to input your name and Library barcode number (1973 + student ID #). If you need help, contact the Library by phone (937-778-7950) or email Library@edisonohio.edu
Check Nexis Uni first. Follow the attached directions to search for cases.
Quick document from Nexis Uni that goes over Shepard's signal legend
After searching Nexis Uni, if you still need more info, check Google Scholar. After clicking the link, select "Case Law" and then choose the court. Search for a case by title or citation.
Legal Information Institute
If you need additional case info that you haven't found in Nexis Uni or Google Scholar, you may be able to find info in LII.
Resource from Cornell Law School
"Publishing law online, for free.
Creating materials that help people understand law.
Exploring new technologies that make it easier for people to find the law."
Legal Collection and Criminal Justice Abstracts are both EBSCO databases where you may be able to find academic articles about criminal cases. The "How Do I" doc applies to them both since they are searched the same way.
Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. This database is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.