Databases are a collection of data organized in a manner that allows for access, retrieval and use of that data, which are journal, newspaper, government, etc. articles
Edison State Library has numerous databases available to students and these can be accessed directly through the library's main database page, which is located here. For information about accessing specific databases, please look at the PDFs or watch the videos provided below.
Peer reviewed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly reviewers that have analyzed the article for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal before accepting it for publication. This high standard of writing, content, and research quality results in the highest quality scholarly articles on your subject.
If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications, they have been vetted by scholars in the field for quality and importance (SDSU Library, n.d.).
SDSU Library. (n.d.). What is peer review? Retrieved July 14, 2020, from https://libguides.sdsu.edu/UnderstandingPeerReview
ESearch can search everything at once or specific resources and databases can be accessed by using the provided limiters. Selecting the Articles link under the ESearch bar will limit the results to only articles. Once initial search is completed, select the limiters along the left side of the page to choose specific journals or databases.
Use search techniques to get better results, such as:
Access this PDF to learn how to use ESearch to locate articles, journals or databases and how to use the search techniques provided.
Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports and conference proceedings. The database features some PDF content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
After searching Nexis Uni, check Google Scholar. After clicking the link, select "Case Law" and then choose the court. Search for a case by title or citation.
Check Nexis Uni first. Follow the attached directions to search for cases.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Legal Collection and Criminal Justice Abstracts are both EBSCO databases where you may be able to find academic articles about criminal cases. The "How Do I" doc applies to them both since they are searched the same way.
Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. This database is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is a full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
If you need additional case info that you haven't found in Nexis Uni or Google Scholar, you may be able to find info in LII.
Library: 937-778-7950