LibGuides: PLS 121 Rivera-Cerezo Religious Freedoms: Are there appropriate limits?: Citing, Bibliography and Sources

Citing and Citations

According to the United States Naval Academy LibGuide:

Citing a source means to document it in sufficient detail that a reader will be able to find that source and specific quotation or idea within that source in order to find more information.

A citation is the specific information or documentation provided to make it possible to find the information cited.

United States Naval Academy. Plagiarism Basics, 2024, https://libguides.usna.edu/c.php?g=410493&p=2795875. Accessed 9 July 2024.

For more information on both the MLA and ALA formats, please visit the library Citations LibGuide.

Chicago

OWL's Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and documentation and has been lovingly called the “editor’sbible.” The material in this resource focuses primarily on one of the two CMOS documentation styles: the Notes-Bibliography System (NB), which is used by those in literature, history, and the arts. The other documentation style, the Author-Date System, is nearly identical in content but slightly different in form and is preferred in the social sciences.

Contact Edison Library and Tutoring Center

Reach out to the library or tutoring center, if additional help is needed.

Library: 937-778-7950

Tutoring Center: 937-778-7959

Bibliography and Annotated Bibliography

Writing an Annotated Bibliography
A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) used for researching a topic.

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation.

An annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.

Select the below links to go to Purdue Writing Lab for a full definition and examples of a bibliography and an annotated bibliography.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?
Summarized from Purdue Owl, this document describes what an annotated bib should include and how to format it.
Annotated Bibliography Example
This document is an example of a short annotated bib.

Primary and Secondary Source Types

As defined by Purdue Owl Writing Lab:

A primary source is a firsthand or eyewitness account of information by an individual close to the topic. Examples of primary sources include autobiographies, personal correspondence (e.g., diary entries, letters), government documents, works of art and literature, statistics and data, and newspaper articles written by reporters close to the source.

A secondary source is a source that is more removed from an event, usually written after the event has happened. Examples of secondary sources include biographies, interpretation of statistics and data, and anything written after an historical event or analyzing something that already happened (e.g., examining a work of art from 100 years ago).

Find the full definition at Purdue Online Writing Lab.

Ethical Information Use

Link for Ethical Information Use
It is important to ethically use the information/resources gathered for the project, paper or research. The way to do this, is to correctly cite sources both in the text of the paper and in the references, works cited and/or bibliography.

Select the above link to go to The Ohio State University for videos and guides on citing.

Information Literacy

Introduction to Research (Information Literacy)
This video tutorial covers basic research skills. It discusses different sources of information, where to find them, and whether or not they are credible.
more...less...
00:07:15